GNC champs brings end to a good off season

First blog post in a while…that is because I had a nice long and relaxed off-season. First starting it in Cape Town, then the South Coast at Southbroom and finally on my parents farm in the Freestate.

It was nice to have some off time and I got to do some good base training on different to the normal roads. But when there is no racing, training can become boring with the long hours this time of the year and the mind can become lazy. It’s a kinda stale feeling after a while, so this weekend it was nice to race again at Gauteng North Champs.

I was the lone man from the team to ride, as all the other riders reside in Central Gauteng. This made live though for me as I faced a strong and experienced contingent from team TCS, EOH and Dylan Girdlestone and Shuan-Nic Bester from Westvaal-BMC.

An early move got away containing Gawie Combrink, Henning Jooste(both TCS) and Quentin Gordon(EOH). They quickly built up a massive advantage…despite my best efforts I couldn’t escape from the 25-odd strong main bunch, finally once the gap grew to 5 minutes at the 40km mark, I resigned to the fact that I was going to have to take charge and ride on the front. Fortunately some of the other guys also missed out and gave a helping hand, particularly the two Westvaal riders.

It took all of 60km from where we started chasing to catch up again. Never leaving the front-end of the bunch for too long, I was already starting to feel it. And TCS made their numbers count continuesly counter-attacking, forcing me to chase every move. With 20km to Jaco Ferreria(TCS) managed to get a gap and a got to minute quite quickly. I couldn’t let it go for too long and finally managed to escape along with Jaco’s teammate Nico Bell.

The three of us combined well to ride away from what was left of the main bunch. But in the last 3km the Two TCS riders took turns to attack and counter-attack me, but it wasn’t until the final 200m when the legs had enough. I got the kick on Nico, but then all seemed to lock up and he was able to breeze past me to take the win.

It was a tough job, I came close, but TCS dominated the race from start to finish, and manage to pull off a good victory. Overall I am quite happy with my form at the moment. The First major goal would be SA Champs, followed by a 10 week Euro stint at the end of March.

Leave a Reply

